RSS Feed

036: Wroclaw. 2012/6/6

Posted on

[Magnificent Wroclaw Opera and other photos at the end of the entry.
Videos after various jumps.  文中有數段影片。]

I’m glad I have a good reason for visiting Wrocław amidst the UEFA football frenzy (and how it blemishes the beautiful looks of the city) – the opera tonight was good.  Not great, but good is good.

In the morning neither Łukasz nor Artur had the time for Panaroma.  I think the fact is that neither was interested in seeing it, rather than not having the time.  In fact, it was not until I returned home very late today was I able to get on the internet to find out that Łukasz preferred to see other museums or taking a walk in the city.  Since this is the case, why can’t they be more straightforward in saying exactly what they WANT to do?

At least the day started with very fine weather – under a reasonably blue sky, everything looks different.

At the Panaroma were a whole bunch of shoving, talking kids.  Oh yeah, and I am the circus freak again – everyone stared at me and turned to their classmates and laughed.  Some kept turning to look at me to see exactly how close I would get.

The ticket to Panaroma grants a free visit to the National Museum on the same day, and there are some fine things.  And before I could get out of the museum (which took up roughly 1.5 hours), darker clouds gathered.

I met with Artur, who showed aversion to visiting any museum.  It’s rather tiresome and annoying, since I was already trying to tell him what we CAN do together as well as to clarify to him I am NOT going to take him to a museum.  Finally he understood what I was trying to say and went to the Korean(-slash-Japanese) restaurant with me.  One fun thing he told was how eastern Poland is regarded as conservative and retro (well, of course with his very limited English he didn’t use these words), and how they previously opposed to joining EU.  After lunch I decided a certain odor and, more significantly, his need to repeat things five times to be enough, so I prevented him from “showing and explaining” to me more things in the city and went by myself.  At least it’s a relief to finally have some reasonable sushi and sashimi (raw fish), even though the price is at least twice the price in Taipei!

I hate the fact that I almost always can’t help but be polite, and this seems to be a theme for my stay in Wrocław.  But at least I have come to see some improvements in myself (while still refraining from being rude).

After some futile efforts I eventually managed to find the entrance to the old town hall (City Dwellers’ Art Museum) – thanks to even more things erected to block the way (to ensure the ultimate enjoyment of football geeks of their Fan Zone), it was really difficult; somehow someone seems to be careless enough not to put up some proper signs to help with directions.  Actually there are none! And this is supposed to be a highlight of the city!  A bit to my surprise, today the entrance is free; (as to why, you beat me: the various Polish cities seem to have their different days of the week to grant free entrances or shut things down;) yet there is not much to see.

I managed to call Tz a bit before taking my nap; both the call and the nap are very fine.  Erik was nowhere to be seen before I departed, but since he invited me to join his friends for a drink after the opera today, I left a note to ask for the detail.

While the ticket price for tonight’s show is cheaper, I got exactly the same ultra-central seat! And neither ticket is that expensive.  I wonder how Greg managed this.  Boris Godunov isn’t as long as I think, but while I did manage this morning to take a quick peep on Wikipedia, I decided that (even though I own two recordings,) I simply can’t memorize the synopsis by heart, so I got a program at the Opera – it turned out that they’re still using the conventional Rimsky-Korsakov edition, and the whole performance was to last three hours.

By the way, Wrocław Opera only provides Polish subtitles and only make broadcast announcements in Polish, unlike Latvian Opera or Lithuanian Opera – both use both the local language and English.  And this piece of fact seems to make what the hooligans sitting right beside me do all the more maddening.

There were a group of six or seven that came in together and sat to my right and left.  Some are young, mid-twenty-ish people, while others are in their late thirties or early forties.  The skinny woman sitting to my right (whose mouth smells like a lot of cigarettes) kept thrusting her body to the already somewhat broken seat, and the fat woman sitting to my left took out her very cheap Nokia phone (well, I also stick to very cheap Nokia phones) to take photos.  I thought she would stop as least when the music started, but no, she kept taking photos.  I chose to block her phone-camera with my hand and to glare at her, which made her to turn coyly to her friend to discuss.  When she started to take more photos for the following act, I turned to her and said very calmly, “PUT THAT AWAY, OR I SWEAR I AM GOING TO SMASH IT.”

The bunch of hooligans left after the first interval, leaving among this group only one woman sitting to the left of the phone-camera woman, who smiled at me somewhat apologetically.  Hooray, all the more quietness for myself! Unfortunately, they did return after the second interval, and this time while the cigarette mouth behaves more or the less the same, the very pretty young girl sitting to her right was TEXTING the entire time.  Trying to avoid the bright light emitted from her screen, I thought for a moment how to snap the phone from this Facebook-obsessed bird brain, dissemble the phone, and smash the pieces to various directions on the floor.  It was probably a pity that I didn’t realize my intention.

At the beginning of the performance as well as other parts of the show, the cigarette mouth LAUGHED several times when seeing something absolutely NOT FUNNY on the stage, such as a whole bunch of Russian peasants freezing in snowy winter.  If they act like such idiots and obviously don’t care for what was happening on the stage, they exactly WTF did they choose to attend? Even if they were some idiotic tourists (and they speak Polish instead of other languages), they could have gone to a bar instead while retaining the tickets to show off to friends!

And it’s Godunov! Do you know (do they know) how f—ing often it is for us to have this kind of repertoire in Taiwan? Gosh!  And they showed absolutely no f—ing sense of shame after I told them what not to do!

Łukasz came to meet me at the Opera, who emerged to be taller and bigger than I imagined.  We went for a ride at night, although it didn’t take me long to discover he seems to be avert to quite a number of things.  I was to join Greg for a drink, but then it started to rain, and I don’t suppose sitting with Greg and his two strictly Polish-speaking friends for the following two or more hours (not to mention that I have to go home on foot) is the best way to wear off my “high” after a performance, I bid him goodbye after paying him a very short and swift visit, during which Łukasz heard that I had to go to the airport tomorrow (to meet Greg and other people) and graciously offered to drive me, which came as a surprise.

[Wroclaw photos: day, Opera, and night views = here.]

記帳:
Panaroma+ National Museum:25
中餐:60
Town Hall:0
超市:10.04
歌劇:90
歌劇節目單:2
歌劇咖啡+點心:9+5
drink:40
總計: 241.04PLN

發表迴響 Leave a response

