RSS Feed

相機怎麼選 New Camera.. Or Not?

Posted on

之所以考慮要不要買新相機,是因為,Last time when I met Daphne, she happened to show me photos taken with her Canon PowerShot SX30 HS.  The zoom was amazing.  That’s why I started searching.

Turned out that the two current contenders for super zoom are Canon SX40 and Nikon P500.  Most reviewing websites seem to nod at Canon.

I tried the camera in a shop — yes, it’s pretty nice, although I don’t find the interface isn’t as readily understandable as, say, Nikon’s or Panasonic LUMIX’s.  In fact, I want different “modes” that I can choose from.  That’s what I love about my LUMIX ZR1.

When I considered further, bringing such a bulky camera (even if neglecting the fact that it weighs 600 grams) isn’t a really great idea.  In certain areas of, say, Peru, I would choose not to carry a backpack AT ALL at night and just hide my small camera carefully inside my jacket.  True, my ZR1 isn’t that great for night pictures unless I have a tripod with me, but the truth is that, were I to carry something as bulky as SX40, there’ll be no way for me to hide it.  Besides, as my friend Halden. asserted, photo quality produced by 類單眼 like SX40 isn’t that much different from that of regular consumer DC.  (H., like many photography geeks/gurus stick to their (D)LSR (單眼).)  If that’s true, then I don’t think I should care that much about the zoom.

至於豪哥則是堅持,類單眼至少有二個好處:

  • 相片品質確定比消費機好;
  • 可以加濾光鏡,既可濾雜光又可防塵。

不過,我應該因為這樣去買台類單眼嗎?

So what to do? perhaps buying a new consumer digital camera with a zoom significantly larger than the 8x of my ZR1, which just celebrated its 2-year-old birthday (yeah right, as if I remember its birthday or, more accurately, the purchase date…).   Choices include LUMIX ZS8, ZS10 (both of 16x), and imaginably pricier new ZS15 and ZS20 (respecitvely 16x and 20x).

I can rule out easily ZS10, 15 and 20, since all of them are equipped with GPS, which consumes way too much battery.  Is it more important to make sure that all photos are automatically GPS-positioned or that I don’t have to worry about running out of battery after taking merely 150-200 photos? Of course the latter.  Besides, all latter three have touch screens, a feature much complained among some.

What about ZS8 and 10? The following website compared them.  我想最重要的是,exactly what’s the difference between CMOS and CCD? CMOS真的有比CCD好很多嗎?需要因為CMOS而捨棄電池續航力強得多的ZS8(其實也和我的ZR1差不了多少)嗎?

Advantages of the Panasonic DMC-ZS10

GPS Has a GPS Yes vs No
Help
Automatically geotags your photos when traveling
Movie format Higher resolution movies 1080p @ 30fps vs 720p @ 30fps
Help
Shoots higher resolution Full HD (1080p) video
Touch screen Has a touch screen Yes vs No
Help
Fewer buttons to worry about and direct interaction with camera menus
High-speed framerate Records high-speed movies 220 fps vs None
Help
Capture events too fast for the naked eye and play them back in super-slow motion
Sensor type Has a CMOS-family sensor CMOS vs CCD
Help
CMOS-family sensors often produce better quality images
Screen resolution Higher resolution screen 460k dots vs 230k dots
Help
2x higher resolution screen
Continuous shooting Shoots significantly faster 10 fps vs 1.9 fps
Help
Around 5.5x faster continuous shooting

當然還有一個選擇就是買一台SX40又同時帶舊的ZR1以供晚間臨時要照相用,雖然ZR1夜拍不佳。(呃,ZS8和10的夜拍咧… 我也不知道。)

發表迴響 Leave a response

